I am not worthy

Just before communion, we say, “Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the word, and my soul shall be healed.” It comes from Matthew 8:5-13 when the centurion asks for the healing of his servant. That prayer goes against all of our validation, support culture, where everyone deserves wealth, power, success, etc. But, imagine standing in the presence of Jesus. Not the “friend” Jesus, but Lord. “I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals.” Mark 1:7 (NAB) When faced with the difference between the one who has power over creation, we are nothing. When looking at our weaknesses and failures, we are nothing. Yet, He comes with arms open wide and love in His eyes. How much more wonderful is that, knowing how little we can do to deserve it?

When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help.  “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”  Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”  The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof.  But just say the word, and my servant will be healed.  For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me.  I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes.  I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”  When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him, “Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith.”  Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! Let it be done just as you believed it would.”  And his servant was healed at that moment.  Matthew 8:5-10, 13 (NIV)

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

