Your God Am I

When my kids were little, they would give me a picture that they had drawn.  I loved it.  Not because I needed it, but because it was a gift from their heart to mine.  In Psalm 50, God is rebuking Israel for going through the motions without putting their heart into it.  He doesn’t need sacrifices, He doesn’t need for us to go to church.  He needs for us to want to give Him a gift of what He has given us.  He needs for us to remember that He is not just God, but OUR God.  OUR Father.  Not for the world, but for us, specifically.  The “requirements” of our faith are not meant to be fulfilled only by the actions, but are ways that God has given us to remind us where our hearts are.  Send Him a picture today.  He’ll love it.

“Listen my people, I will speak.  Israel, I will testify against you. God, your God, am I.”  Psalm 50:7

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

