Compliments

It is a rare moment when we sit down and really get to tell someone how wonderful we think they are.  Generally, it’s an awkward conversation and you don’t know how to respond.  Do I compliment them back?  Do they want something from me?  How does that conversation end?  I have an opportunity this week to write some letters to some wonderful people and tell them so.  It’s within a structure that is expected, so it doesn’t feel so awkward.  But, how sad is that?  I try to tell people on a regular basis how wonderful they are and end the conversation with “I just wanted you to know”, or something similar, and leave no room for a return compliment, but I definitely don’t do it enough.  So, today’s challenge is to think of someone you really admire and tell them that they are a blessing to you or others.  Without being awkward. 😊

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Compliments

  1. I honestly don’t understand why it would be “awkward”. And while complimenting, thanking and encouraging a person shouldn’t be a fishing expedition for return compliments, surely it’s not a bad thing if the complimentee responds in kind! We ALL need encouragement. I make a real effort to tell people – friends, family, random strangers who serve me, fellow bloggers – when I appreciate something they’ve done, and I absolutely love it when they respond in kind … provided, of course, that it’s real and not just being polite. Words of encouragement are like little arrows along the path of everyday life – “Keep going, this is the way.”

    • Karen May says:

      I agree, which is why I love telling people how wonderful they are. It takes a little practice to overcome the awkwardness, but it’s so worth it. Once I called the manager of a service provider who came to my house to compliment him on a job well done, and the manager hardly knew what to do with it. I think it made her day not to have to ward off an angry customer. Two birds with one stone. 🙂

  2. Simone Krasan says:

    You are a blessing to me :)))

Leave a Reply

