First Things First

I’ve never really thought about how the Our Father starts, but I think it is very telling.  The first three requests are about God – “Hallowed be thy name” “Thy Kingdom come” “Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven”  These have nothing to do with me, but they have everything to do with where my orientation should be.  The first half of the prayer is asking for God to be front and center in the world – in the right way.  Wouldn’t that be amazing?  If that is the framework for any request that I have, then I have the right perspective.  It is so much easier to finish by saying, “Not my will but Yours be done,” in that context.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

