Resonance

I had a friend ask me recently how I knew when God was saying something to me. I had heard some pretty specific things for her in my prayer. It’s hard to explain, but I likened it to the resonance of a wine glass. There is a pitch that you can hear if you tap the glass. When you sing that pitch right at the glass, it vibrates and will continue to ring. If you sing a different pitch it doesn’t. When I hear God telling me something, it’s a little like that. When I’m reading, when I’m praying, when I hear a song, it resonates and stands out from the rest. I know it is meant for me. It isn’t so hard to do; it just takes attention. Do you feel like God is telling you something? Does is sound like something He would say? Listen and then watch. The Bible even says so.  “Do not despise prophetic utterances.  Test everything; retain what is good.” (1 Thess 5:21 NAB) If it bears fruit, try it again. Eventually, you’ll start to recognize His voice as it resonates louder and louder.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

