Tiger Mom

Think we have tiger moms now? How would you feel if your mom had the nerve to go to Jesus in front of all the disciples and ask for you to be His #2? Pretty bold. I’m sure the thinking was that Jesus was going to be king, and there were some positions that needed filled. Why not my kids? The mother of James and John did just that, and brought her sons with her. I wonder if they were embarrassed or hopeful, or maybe a bit of both. Either way, Jesus didn’t chastise her for her pride, He just asked if they thought they could really handle the things that would come with the positions. He didn’t give it to them, but He didn’t fault her for asking. I haven’t been that kind of tiger mom, asking for power or positions, but I have definitely gone to Jesus with some hands-on-hips demands for my kids. The thing is, He’s always patiently listened, even if the answer wasn’t to be what I wanted.
Then the mother of the sons of Zebedee approached him with her sons and did him homage, wishing to ask him for something. He said to her, “What do you wish?” She answered him, “Command that these two sons of mine sit, one at your right hand, and the other at your left, in your kingdom.” Jesus said in reply, “You do not know what you are asking. Can you drink the cup that I am going to drink?” They said to him, “We can.” He replied, “My cup you will indeed drink, but to sit at my right and at my left[, this] is not mine to give but is for those for whom it has been prepared by my Father.” (Matthew 20:20-23 NAB)
About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiger Mom

  1. mjones609 says:

    Love this 🙂

Leave a Reply

