Joy of the Gospel

I was asked once if I was a Christian. I looked around, and nothing on me or near me gave any indication. When I asked why he thought I was, the person replied that I had a joy about me that was different, and he thought it was pretty clear. I’m about to start a study on The Joy of the Gospel by Pope Francis and just the title reminded me that the effect of faith is joy and hope, and people are drawn to it. If my faith is sullen and judgmental, it’s misdirected. If it is joyful in knowing that the God is present no matter what the situation, then it’s in the right place.
“Always be ready to give an explanation to anyone who asks you for a reason for your hope, but do it with gentleness and reverence, keeping you conscience clear, so that, when you are maligned, those who defame your good conduct in Christ may themselves be put to shame.” (1 Peter 3:15-16 NAB)
About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

