Unanswered Prayers

What does it mean when a prayer isn’t answered? If I don’t get what I prayed for, is it because I didn’t have enough faith? I didn’t pray for the right thing? I was reminded recently that Jesus prayed for something He didn’t get. He asked, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet, not as I will, but as you will.” (Mt 26:39 NAB) He didn’t get what He asked for – but the end of the prayer was a request to orient Himself to his Father’s will. It never hurts to ask, but in the answer, we can be more clear that this is God’s will for us. It may not be pleasant, but at least we know He’s there. It’s a little counterintuitive and can sound a little like finding good where there isn’t any, but I have found the opposite to be true. When I am convinced that God wants me in a difficult place, I can let go of the fight a little and start looking for what I’m supposed to be doing in it. I’ve received graces that way every time, I promise.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

