Prepare a Dwelling Place

IMG_6808

This season is spent preparing for the arrival of a baby. We set up the manger, we empathize with Mary riding a donkey when she’s nine months pregnant, and wonder with her what all this could mean. But, last week, I saw it differently. I was reflecting on “In Him you are being built together into a dwelling place of God in the Spirit.” (Eph 2:22), and as I sat in my church, the cross loomed large in my sight. This dwelling place in me was being created for what? For a delicate child? Not this time. For me, this dwelling place, this place to hold God in my heart, was a place to hold Him as He was on the cross. Broken, rejected, tortured, and shamed. It is a delicate and gentle place to hold Him with love and tender care. It was incredibly clear to me that this is what I am called to prepare this Advent. The Year of Mercy starts tomorrow. Pretty appropriate timing, I think.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

