Sick Day

IMG_8427

I am in the middle of a sick day today. It’s one of those that keeps you on the couch, dozing in and out, wishing you had the energy to go to the kitchen to make some nice, hot tea. Actually, I really just want someone else to go make me the tea, and then come rub my head. That’s usually my job, and today there isn’t anyone here to do it for me. Now, I’ll be fine, it’s just a bear of a cold that will probably be much better tomorrow, but it made me think of the act of mercy, Visiting the Sick. When we visit, we have no intention of curing. It’s just a visit. But, the gift of someone sitting with you in a sickness is something wonderful, even more so when that sickness is taking a good while. The simple acts of getting that cup of tea, stroking back a strand of hair, or fluffing a little pillow are just the things that make it that much more bearable. Don’t you think?

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, Love, Year of Mercy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick Day

  1. Simone Krasan says:

    Awe! Sara and I would have made u tea and rubbed your back!!!😊❤️.

    Hope you had a good rest and you are feeling better! You were missed.

    Looks good to see “Amayzing Graces” on FROM- only thing left is [new post] Sick Day. Can you remove [new post] icon?

    So proud of you!!!!!! You are Amayzing!!!

    Simone c. 512-658-3534 Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

