Roadmaps

I found an interesting verse as I was working on my Bible study. As He prepares for his death, Jesus tells His apostles, “I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now.” (John 16:12). He has just told them that the crucifixion, the resurrection, and the Holy Spirit are all coming. He has told them that they will be persecuted and rejected. That’s quite a bit there, really. How much more is there to tell? What I love about this passage is that they are given enough information to deal with what is coming next. The rest is much too big for them to deal with, and they will be helped along as they are ready. That much is promised. Isn’t that frequently how it goes with us? I have to say, I have had many an experience where I have no idea what God is doing with me, only to find that it fits perfectly into what has come later. The road can be difficult sometimes, and it’s always nice to have an idea of the destination. Then again, sometimes it’s best not to know what the road looks like until we’re in so far we can’t turn back.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roadmaps

  1. It’s so true! If we knew what God really had for us on the road up ahead we would be scared to death! Keep walking by faith! Nice post.😊

    • Karen May says:

      I know! There are plenty of times I wouldn’t have started down the road, but now that I’m through, I’m so glad for the results of the journey. Thanks, and many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

