Hatred Carried

In my prayer this morning, I reflected on Jesus’ scourging at the pillar. It is the time when He is beaten in hopes that it would be enough to appease the crowds who want Him dead. I never like this one. I thought, “I hate how we hate You. I hate how we fear You, and fight what we think you demand of us.” And, as I gazed at Him, I realized that He took it all. Every blow of hatred, every lash of anger. Without a word. Without a defense. Then, He carried it to where it belonged. Crucified, lifted high for all to see the brutal reality. Put to death, because the lashing was not enough. On the cross, it was transformed into grace, healing, and resurrection. Transformed by love. He takes it all, if we will let Him. If we follow it to the cross, then we, too, can be transformed.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Easter, Faith, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

