Giving Thanks

I just received the most thoughtful thank you present. A friend had stayed with us and came up with an item to remember something about each person’s interactions with her. I have been completely outdone. However, it reminds me why saying thank you in the first place is so important. It matters for several reasons. First, the person giving the gift, or doing a service has done so out of thoughtfulness or consideration for me. Second, even if they have done it out of habit, a thank you allows them to see what they are doing and that it matters to someone else. Third, it makes me take note that what I have received is a gift, no matter the size. It is something that I try to do every day with God. All that I am is gift. All that I have is gift. All that I do is gift. Sometimes it may not feel like it, but if I can give thanks, whether in big or small ways, then it helps me to see it more clearly.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

