Take My Heart

I had a moment this weekend as I prepared to listen to the Gospel. Just before it is read, we make small crosses on our forehead, lips, and chest, and silently pray, “Bless my mind that I may understand, my lips that I may speak, and my heart that I may live Your Word.” I just stopped at the end and held my heart for a moment, overwhelmed. My heart. If Your Word resides there, all the rest flows from it. My heart, Lord, my heart. And I longed in a way that I haven’t before, for God to fill my heart to bursting, for Jesus to reside without barrier, for the Holy Spirit to animate me completely. It’s hard to describe, because I have prayed this and meant it for a long time. It’s not even new or unique to this prayer. Paul talks about speaking, and interpreting, and sacrifice, and how it is all nothing without love in 1 Cor 13. But, yesterday, it meant so much more to me. Yes, Lord, teach me to understand, help me to learn. Yes, Lord, give me words to speak. But first, give me Your heart, because without it, all the rest is nothing. Amen.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, Love, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

