Who Am I to Judge?

 

Surely, we all know that stereotyping and judging others based on appearances or associations alone is wrong. It makes no sense to say you know someone’s values when you don’t even know the person, right? Others do that, not me. Then, I saw that I do it, too. Maybe not in the most egregious ways, but that’s how it slips by unnoticed and poisons the air around us.

I will strike up a conversation about anywhere, whether it is with the sales clerk at the store, or the person next to me on the plane. But when I thought about it, I realized that I will censor my information based on what I think the other person will think of me. I won’t say that I am writing a Bible study, or that I have an inspirational blog, because I think the other person will judge me, because they think I will judge them. And the judging goes on and on. Instead, I’ve just eliminated an opportunity to show that the judgement they have isn’t true. Oh, wait. I’ve just eliminated the opportunity to show that the judgement I have isn’t true. Darn, when that whole thing comes back around.

“Stop judging that you may not be judged. For as you judge, so will you be judged and the measure with which you measure will be measured out to you. Why do you notice the splinter in your brothers’s eye, but do not perceive the wooden beam in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove that splinter from your eye,’ while the wooden beam is in your eye? You hypocrite, remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:1-5

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

