Small Things

 

The smallest things can make the biggest difference. In the Gospel of John, there is a moment when Jesus tells a man, Nathanael, that He saw him under a fig tree. Immediately, Nathanael says, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God, the King of Israel.” (John 1:49) It was really not the response I was expecting. I’ve seen lots of people sitting under trees, and none of them has worshipped me when I told them that I saw them. I have to wonder what made such an impression. But, then I remember that there are moments when God touches my heart deeply, and I can’t explain it to anyone without it sounding trivial. That song that came on the radio as I turned on the car? It’s just a song that is played over and over again. But, as I left a hurting friend, the song said exactly the words that my friend needed to hear. Message received, but meaningless to anyone else listening at that moment. It really doesn’t matter if our God moments seem significant to anyone else. I’m sure that what matters most to God is that they matter most to us.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, hope, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

