Coffee Date

img_9683

I have been on a God-run of phenomenal proportions lately. It’s been very clearly God directed, and God-moments spill out each day. It has all been wonderful, but I’ve been missing something, and I finally figured out what it was.

I’ve been doing a lot of things with God and through His direction, but haven’t had much time with God. It seems quite the dichotomy, but really it isn’t. For example, between work, kids, home projects, activities, and life my husband and I rarely get a moment to ourselves. We are working together, generally consult each other for decisions, and run through this life side by side. We also have a coffee date once a week that has only been cancelled twice in the last few years since we started it. We solve problems, come up with to-do lists, but generally we just enjoy time with each other.

I realized that my life with God was similar. I have been “running with” God for a while, and I enjoy it immensely, but I really need that time to “gaze at” God. I need time to sit with no topic, no “work” for Him to do in my life, and just rest in our relationship. I think we all do, no matter how busy He is with us.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, Love, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coffee Date

  1. alice says:

    I love your posts! So often they really speak to me right in the moment. Thanks Karen!

  2. I used to set aside a day for an “Annual General Meeting” with God at the beginning of each year. I would send the Girl Child off to her grandparents, turn off my phone, lock my door. I would start preparing my heart the night before, and I would fast on the day of our AGM, and then I would simply sit and write – what I perceived about the year past, what I hoped for the year to come. I’d write it all out, until at last I was empty and could lay down my book, close my eyes, and listen. He never failed to show up, and those days set the tone for the following year in an incredible way.

    Since marrying and moving to the US I’ve dropped that habit … and somehow my other habits of taking time to be alone with God have eroded as well. I’m still conscious that he’s there, I still ask for guidance and wisdom or forgiveness and patience, I still think about him a lot and talk to him… sometimes. But it’s not enough.

    I don’t want to suggest that a once-a-year-meeting is anywhere near enough. But for me it was an important opportunity to check where I was at relative to where God wanted me to be. I think I need to fix that. Thank you for this reminder.

  3. Karen May says:

    I love that tradition! I love my quiet time with God, but it’s funny how quickly I run out of time for it – even though it gives me so much more time that I give. Enjoy checking back in!

Leave a Reply

