Never giving up

I’ve been hearing this song on the radio, and it struck me as an interesting conversation. Over and over again, it says, “Don’t you give up, I won’t give up. Let me love you. Let me love you.” The verses in between talk of hope and discouragement and uncertainty, but then we hear again, “I won’t give up. Let me love you.”  I wonder how many times this is our conversation with God. Things look good, our plans are solid, and then something gets thrown into the mix and we’re off balance. Doubts creep in, and we feel abandoned or let down. We feel distant, and God seems to be uncaring or unfair. No matter, because this momentary affliction may be just the thing that brings us closer or breaks through the walls that we have placed around us.

Jesus promises us that he will be with us always, “until the end of the age,”(Matthew 28:20) No matter how distant we feel or how disappointed we may be, He says again, “Don’t you give up. I won’t give up. Let me love you. Let me love you.”

 

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, hope, Love, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

