Reflections

adobe-spark-7

I will pick up any accent I hear. Occasionally, my accent will be the most bizarre mixture of word pronunciations I’ve ever heard. It can be from the Midwest where I was born or Texas where I was raised, or even from England, where I have never lived in my  life

I have a friend with a fabulous English accent. It is just lovely, really. It’s strong enough that I will unconciously change the way I’ve pronounced a word for my entire life as I stand there talking to her. Fortunately, to her my mistake sounds normal, and she doesn’t notice.

We all tend to reflect those around us, whether it is in speech, behavior, or belief. There’s a reason for the proverb that says, “Walk with the wise and you become wise, but the companion of fools fares badly.” (Proverbs 13:20)

If you want to build your faith, spend time with people who live their faith fully, listen or watch things that help build your faith and educate you in it. Look at the people who surround you and see if they are the type of people that you want to reflect. If they aren’t, find people who are.

As for me, I plan on hanging around my English friend a while longer. I wouldn’t mind being her kind of Brit.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

