Peace

Peace be with You

“The peace that surpasses all understanding.” This is how Paul describes what your spirit is like when you are filled with the Holy Spirit. Or with faith, or with Jesus, or …

I spend my time trying to put into words this faith that I know. I try to share the experiences and understandings that I have, but when it really comes down to it, the only way to describe it is to say that it surpasses all understanding. I can’t possibly tell you all that fills my heart. I can’t possibly tell you how I see the Holy Spirit work in the most unexpected ways, and how what I see is more than what the “world” sees. All I can do is try to put words to something that is far beyond words. All I can do is tell you my stories and hope that you can start to see them in your lives, too.

There are so many things in faith that seem to run counter to what we should do, feel, or understand: joy in suffering, peace in chaos, and restraint in the face of excess are not what we expect. With faith, however, these are not required, but are given as gift. It’s hard to describe, but I’m sure going to keep trying.

In the meantime:

“Rejoice in the Lord always, I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by your prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:4-7)

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Be Not Afraid, evangelization, Faith, Love, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peace

  1. Lisa Zamloot says:

    Hi Karen! Just read your post and wanted to tell you that I presented my witness to my CRHP group last week and used that same verse from Philippians to close my story! One of my favorites! Thanks and blessings, Lisa

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

