Where did God go?

Silence of God does not mean the absence of God, Amayzing Graces, Karen May

 

I have a pretty close relationship with God. I feel Him present in my heart, I hear His leadings and callings, and I see Him working in the people around me all the time.

Even so, I’ve had times when I couldn’t hear, feel, and sure couldn’t see Him. It’s disconcerting at the least, and when it happens during a challenging time, it can be downright maddening.

I’ve learned through the years, though, that this silence or absence is rarely as silent or absent as it feels. When I have a bad cold, I can hardly hear for the stuffiness in my ears. When I am underwater, any sound is completely distorted.

Most times, when I feel like God is gone, it is because something is blocking my perception. Fear, sorrow, boredom, and just plain stubbornness can all get in the way.

If I haven’t been praying or connecting in some spiritual way, I can lose my connection and the chance for God to speak to me. If I am overcommitted and busy, the noise of my activity will cover up any God moments that might be trying to poke into my life. Of course, fear and sorrow can muffle our hearing for a long time.

Then, there are times when He is simply silent. These are the times that we just might need a little quiet time to get to where we’re going.

Has there been anything that has helped you when God is silent in your life? What brings you back or opens your ears again?

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, hope, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

