Late fees?

My grace is sufficient for you, Amayzing Graces, Karen May

I live in the grace period.

I know that our library gives you two days after your due date before they start charging a late fee. I know that there are about 30 miles left after the needle hits the “E” on the gas gauge. And, I know that the paddle board company gives you fifteen minutes to be late before they charge you for the next hour.

As we were heading back to the dock on a recent paddle boarding trip, my daughter was really upset that we weren’t going to make it back in time. I could not convince her that this grace period existed, even though I had used it several times. Her trip back was much more stressful than mine was. It wasn’t until we were on the dock, late, and left with no extra charge that she grudgingly admitted that I might be right.

I live in the grace period, because I know that there is a grace period. I know that there is space for me to make a mistake, to forget a date, or to get a little busy. I know this from my library, in my car, on the lake, and in my life. There is a grace period that all of us are given every day. Moments of grace from God not only give us the space to make mistakes, but give us the power to transform them into moments of beauty and growth. They are there every day, whether we are aware of them or not. But, if we are aware, it’s an incredible way to live.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Faith, hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

