Music Monday: Who Am I?

I was reading the book of Job today. Now, that’s not usually the place to go for a “pick-me-up,” but I found something really awe-inspiring in it that I think really relates to this song. It was one of those moments when I just sat down and opened my Bible, asking God to speak to my heart.

Then I opened to Job. A little intimidating, don’t you think?

I started reading in chapter 38, which is where God finally shows up after Job has been demanding an answer to explain all the suffering that he has been going through. God starts the conversation off immediately by asking Job where he was at the creation of the world, if he was the one who set the limits for the sea or placed the clouds in the sky.

A bit off-putting at first, but as I read it closely, I realized that God was speaking directly to my heart. This was not a condemnation of Job, but a statement of God and who He is. This is the one who set the sea in its place. He is the one who knows the number of the stars, and I can trust that He is the one who knows me by name. I can trust that nothing I bring to Him is too big. Nor is anything I bring too small. This is our God. This is the one who loves us.

Who am I that He should know my name? I’m no one really, but He does.

About Karen May

Child of God, wife, mom, author, teacher, musician
This entry was posted in Be Not Afraid, Faith, hope, Love, Music Monday, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

